Introducing the Wall Grid Structure Series

I’ve recently begun working on a new series of wall grid structures in the studio. They represent an exciting development in my work and a deepening of my understanding of my main materials, basswood and ink. I’m continuing to engage with color relations, spatial perception and the architectural structure of the cube, but with these new structures I’m now also exploring how I can project my sculptures into 3D space by co-opting the wall: a place largely reserved for flat works.

I am very pleased to be presenting these new wall grid structures at ZONA MACO in Mexico City next week, where I will be showing with Cristin Tierney Gallery in Booth E-212. I will also be attending the fair, so join me in Mexico to see them in person, and please feel free to take some photos! We will be using the hashtags #cubosdecolores #cubosycuadernos and #interioryexterior at ZONA MACO, and we invite you to tag your photos on social media at the fair.

photo 5
A wall grid structure in progress
photo_2
Wall grid structure (detail)
photo_3
Wall grid structure (detail)
IMG_1430
Eduardo working on a new cube
photo (6)
Raiza Larios has been generous enough to let me use her studio at Plaza Carso in Polanco as I’m preparing for ZONA MACO
photo (7)
None of this would be possible without the dedicated Florencia Minniti, my partner in life and work
photo (8)
Works in progress with a new wall structure in the background
photo (9)
An aerial view of works in progress
photo 1
Cubes and clothespins
photo 2
We have taken our mission to always be surrounded by art to heart in Mexico City
Introducing the Wall Grid Structure Series

Leave a Reply

