3D rendering for the Bruce Museum

As you may know, an important component of the creation of my site-specific work and of my studio practice is to build a scale model. A scale model helps to steer my artistic approach and informs the installation onsite. I have not yet done a site-specific installation without a scale model, until now. (See examples of my scale models here: 30º, Multicolored Grid, Basin and Range, Spire, Allotropism.)

For the Bruce Museum’s Tales of Two Cities: New York & Beijing, I have used a new approach in the studio – 3-dimensional rendering. With the help of my intern, Sandra Lee, she and I were able to create visuals based on the existing architecture of the museum and insert the various gridded structures in the atrium. The result provides a view similar to that of my scale models and offers the benefit of some agility for this new type of site-specific piece.

Bruce Museum 3D Rendering Alois Kronschlaeger

Bruce Museum 3D Rendering Alois Kronschlaeger

Bruce Museum 3D Rendering Alois Kronschlaeger

3D rendering for the Bruce Museum

Leave a Reply

